My Year In Books 2023

Each year I like to post a top 10 list of my favourite books. Sadly, I never got around to doing it in 2023, due to several reasons: so instead, I’m posting a quick summary, that was largely inspired by Goodreads.

My year in Books 2023 by Helen Christmas

Crime Thrillers

Last year, I got back into reading mostly thrillers, some fairly violent, which is unusual, (or maybe I’m just becoming desensitised).

BIOGRAPHIES

I did also read a couple of biographies. This was because, for six months Peter and I were engrossed in helping an old backgammon friend write his autobiography (Jerry Limb, born with no arms, as a result of the tragic Thalidomide scandal). We got so close to turning his story into something exciting and inspirational before the project was pulled in November – and we still don’t know why! But that certainly put the dampners on my year, the reason I’ve been feeling a bit flat. That said, however, I still enjoy reading and to be absolutely engrossed in a good book is one of my greatest pleasures.

MY FAVOURITE

It is difficult to pick 10 books from this list that enjoyed over and above others. But if I had to pick 1 it would be ‘The Last Party’ by Clare Macintosh. The writing style is fantastic, the story brilliant with so many twists and it’s set in Wales, which I consider one of the most beautiful places on earth.

2 thoughts on “My Year In Books 2023

  1. so sorry, I always mean to be better about keeping up with your blog, I enjoy the content and like supporting you, just been so…blah over the past couple years, hard to be motivated to do anything, or remember if I’m being honest. Will want to do something but if I don’t either do it right then or write it down/schedule it it’s just gone. In any case I’m so jealous of the size of your reading list. I used to read much more but have fallen out of practice. One of my goals is to fix that but above mental issues have made it hard. Some of the books you’ve listed look really interesting and will add to my TBR. I started Stephen King’s Fairytales a long time ago but am struggling to really engage with it. So set it aside and started something a bit lighter and more fun. Also have been doing audiobooks which I think has really helped me get back into books and reading. I’m actually currently listening to 19 Minutes by Jodi Picoult and really loving it, even if I like a book they don’t always pull me in the way this one has been. 

  2. Hi, thanks for your comment and no need to apologise. It is so nice when someone reads one of my posts and shares their thoughts. I’m sorry to hear your struggling with mental health, and know how hard it is. It’s a real worry when you can’t motivate yourself. I got into audio books during lockdown, as it helped me to pass the time (both when I was waiting in shop queues and had covid!) but I definitely recommend reading as a very pleasurable and absorbing past time. I’m glad you’re enjoying it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.