Update on the New Book – 14th November 2016

First of all, this post is partly an apology. This is for all those who are yearning to read the final book in my series and perhaps wondering why it’s taking me so long! So I will start this blog by saying I’m sorry for the long wait but… this final book has ended up enormous!


With so many characters and converging story lines, I suspected it would be a lengthy saga. At some point, in Spring, I was actually starting to panic when I thought about the material that I still needed to write in order to conclude the series. The good news is, the entire book is now written. But in order to get something published sooner rather than later, I decided to split into two parts. The first part “Phase 1” looks to be slightly longer than the last book Pleasures (556 pages) but it is impossible to cut it down any more without sacrificing vital story elements. Now it has been given a complete overhaul, I have just send it out to Beta readers. The next stage will be to go over it again (in what I refer to as a ‘polishing process’) where I’ll be working on the writing style to inject as much colour into my descriptions and sharpen up the dialogue. After that will be a rigorous grammar check followed by a final professional proof read.

Realistically, I am hoping to launch in April 2o17.

The 2nd part, “End Game” possibly won’t be finished until the summer of 2017 but at least the draft is written; it just needs to undergo the same process as above.

This novel promises to deliver a mammoth read with an explosive plot, huge characters and a powerful emotional theme throughout. Every loose thread will be tied – and among the more shocking content, there will be some happy scenes interwoven into the mix.

  • In Book 4 Retribution, readers will discover a gangland sub-plot that infiltrates the town of Rosebrook…
  • What is Ben’s epic revenge plan?
  • Will Dominic be charged with Murder?
  • Will the mystery of the politician’s death be solved?
  • Will Eleanor find her long lost father?
  • Will the Barton-Wells family get their ancestral home back?
  • What is the sinister secret that binds all these characters together?

It will be dark, gripping and at times, devastatingly shocking but…. BUT there will be love and hate, passion and vengeance, so many relationships and a few more babies…

About Helen J. Christmas

I am an English author and have written a series of novels, titled 'Same Face Different Place. Beginnings is a gangland thriller set in the criminal underworld of 1970s London. The second Book 'Visions' is a psychological thriller, set in Kent; a mystery that ensnares the owners of an historic, English Country House. Book 3 Pleasures contains suspense, thrills and YA romance, set in a backdrop of organised crime and at the advent of the British rave culture. There are 2 final books in the series, Retribution (Phase One) and Retribution (End Game) where the saga reaches its dramatic conclusion.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Social History, Thrillers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.