Progress on Book 4 Retribution – 2nd December 2015

This is the first blog I’ve written in a while, a new post to say that book 4 is going great guns! I don’t have a watertight synopsis planned for this final novel but let’s say, some of the story lines have been buzzing around inside my head for years; ever since I started the series in fact.

Imagery for Same Face Different Place Book 4 Retribution

The official date I began writing Retribution was August 5th 2015 and I have hardly stopped. It begins with an explosive prologue; a horrific crime committed in Rosebrook resulting in two near fatalities. It is a crime that is about to change the nature of the community in ways the characters never expected as the main evil character of the series grows more powerful. Ben Hampton was 21 when he first appeared in the story but those who read the earlier books will know that he is something of a psychopath. Further more, he is a psychopath with a vendetta; lethally dangerous and out to do a lot more harm. In fact the atrocity committed at the start of this book is just the beginning; it marks the opening chapter of a revenge plan that will span at least 10 years.

What other issues have I tackled in this story?

Like all my books, I like to interweave a little social history. I therefore chose to focus on a few controversial news issues that emerged during this era:

  • It was around the early 1990s when the Catholic child abuse scandal first came to light – where runaway orphan, Peter, is finally forced to face his demons.
  • 1992 was the start of the war in Bosnia – Lieutenant Barton-Wells finds himself caught up in the conflict when his platoon are sent to assist in a peacekeeping mandate.
  • In 1992  The Maastricht Treaty undertaken to integrate Europe was signed: could this be a catalyst that inspires interest in an International consortium that had its roots in the 70s?
  • In 1995 the French resumed underground nuclear testing in the Pacific despite the end of the Cold War – could this have some bearing on the secret mission Perry has confided to his son?

The main difference with Retribution is that this is a book where the main characters are the baddies. Various parts of the story are finally depicted through their eyes – from the opening scenes of Beginnings to the closing scenes of Pleasures.

Last but not least, books 1 – 3 of  ‘Same Face Different Place’ is now available as a boxed set on Amazon Kindle.
This 3 book bundle incurs a saving of of £3.00 compared to buying the books individually.
Readers can catch up on the whole series so far, by clicking this link.



About Helen J. Christmas

I am an English author and have written a series of novels, titled 'Same Face Different Place. Beginnings is a gangland thriller set in the criminal underworld of 1970s London. The second Book 'Visions' is a psychological thriller, set in Kent; a mystery that ensnares the owners of an historic, English Country House. Book 3 Pleasures contains suspense, thrills and YA romance, set in a backdrop of organised crime and at the advent of the British rave culture. There are 2 final books in the series, Retribution (Phase One) and Retribution (End Game) where the saga reaches its dramatic conclusion.
This entry was posted in England, Novel, Self Publishing, Social History, Story, The Decades, Thrillers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.