Book 3 Pleasures Published on Amazon

On Easter Sunday (April 5th) 2015, I formatted and published the 3rd book in my ‘Same Face Different Place’ series, PLEASURES.

The title seems apt. Writing this book has indeed been a ‘pleasurable’ experience, but at the same time it’s been quite an emotional journey for me. It has combined some hard-hitting action thriller scenes with the tender processes of growing up, as the children from VISIONS evolve into young adults.

Cover Design for the Kindle Version

Cover Design for the Kindle Version

Hovering in the background of everyone’s lives are the fragments of a conspiracy which began in the 70s – a situation where everyone is starting to pick up the idea, there’s something very sinister going on – and none more than Eleanor’s son, Elijah. It is a situation which is exacerbated when a tidal wave of crime hits Rosebrook (fictitious setting of this story, a small town in Kent, south of Bromley).

The story’s main character, Eleanor, meanwhile, is hell bent on following the clues to solve this mystery as she continues to add to her ‘secret file.’

It is an ambition draws her to London (often in disguise) knowing her arch enemy, Perry has her constantly under watch – and where she is about to discover secrets which leave her stunned. But her research carries terrible risk and it is in the last section of this story, when her enemies up their offensive, leading to a situation more threatening than could be imagined.

Pleasures is a romantic British based thriller with a flavour of the late 80s/early 90s Rave culture; and centred around a 1970s political conspiracy.

Lastly, I have decided to end this piece with a summary of my own personal journey in writing his book.

October 2013 Got my first ideas and began writing on the 17th: It’s starting again…. I seem to get my best ideas when I’m walking the dog – 8th October 2013

sunset1

January 2014 Took a trip up to London to visit Pimlico (where arch villain Perry owns a house). The trip was primarily to visit my niece, Chloe, who was living in London for a while, but a valuable opportunity to look around a place I have never before been. I never did write a post about this trip but Chloe also took me on a walk through central London, which provided further inspiration for me to mention other areas such as Soho, Chinatown and Leicester Square.

Warwick Square Pimlico

Warwick Square Pimlico

June 2014 Got about 25 chapters drafted out and had to stop, simply because the climax of Part 3 left me in an emotion turmoil. It was time to pause, reflect and edit in preparation for the 4th and final part: 1st Edit of Pleasures gets underway – 3rd July 2014

July 2014 Followed this up with the post What is Pleasures about? 4th July 2014

young-lovers-light

September 2014 Finished the first edit and with a good idea how I was going to finish the book, I pushed ahead with the 4th and final section. It was on September 24th when I took another journey to London to visit the Old Bailey – which is one of the most valuable pieces of research I did and great inspiration for writing those court scenes.

The Old Bailey

October 2014 I wrote the 1st Synopsis for Book 3 Pleasures – 16th October 2014

November 2014 I released the 1st 7 Chapters (Part 1 The Battle for the Land) as a prelude free to anyone eager for a sample: New release in the Same Face Different Place Series – 28th November 2014

Book 3 Pleasures

In December 2014 I published a little paperback version of that prelude as a keepsake: One Groovy Little Paperback – 17th December 2014

Book 3 Pleasures by Helen J. Christmas

April 2014 FINALLY I finished the book. By this time the whole book had been read by 3 people whose feedback was a Godsend. This enabled me to successfully carry out the 2nd and 3rd edits as well as the ‘fine tuning’ of each chapter. It has now been published (as I write this blog) and here is the link on Amazon: http://apn.to/prod/B00VOTFZ1K

HAPPY READING!

 

About Helen J. Christmas

I am a budding author and have written the first 3 books of my British series of novels, 'Same Face Different Place. Beginnings is a suspense thriller set in the criminal underworld of 1970s London. The second Book 'Visions' is a psychological thriller, set in Kent - a mystery which ensnares the owners of an historic, English Country House. Book 3 Pleasures contains suspense, thrills and YA romance and the 4th book is being written.
This entry was posted in Novel, Self Publishing, Social History, Story, Thrillers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

