Update on Progress: Book 3 Pleasures – 24th September 2014

It’s time for another update on the 3rd book of my series, ‘Pleasures.’ 

It was back in June this year, I completed the major part of this book but came to a standstill. I wrote an explosive storyline which finally reached a peak – but it left me with the feeling of having reached a cliff top, practically toppling over the edge, fearing the story could easily fall flat on its face. I knew where the story was going, it was now just a matter of how to get to next point, without readers losing interest.

I have spent the last 3 months editing the first 25 chapters (shorter chapters than the last book) with the hope, that by the time I reached the point where I stopped, I would have a better idea how to end the story. I’m happy to say, I reached that point in early September and am now finishing the book.

There is one trouble with a gripping climax – nobody likes a weak aftermath. It’s like the hangover you get after a heavy night’s partying. So instead of carrying on, where the story left off, I decided to jump one year ahead and recapture all the main points in a series of flash backs. It worked, allowing me to move the story swiftly onwards.

The Old Bailey

Without giving away too much, someone has to stand trial, but from what I understand, preparing for a court case can take years.

In order to cover the time in between, I have not gone into too much detail of the characters’ lives, this time – more, a condensed summary of what everyone’s been up to, in order to get to the most powerful story lines more quickly.

One of the final chapters is based in the Criminal Court, in London, so what better way to inspire myself than to take a visit? It’s been a long while since I’ve been to London or done any further location research. So before I write the last thrilling episode, I’m off to revisit some of the places, where the final scenes of ‘Pleasures’ take place, including Holborn, Victoria and finally, the Old Bailey, where I hope to see some court action. I’ll be adding to this post very soon, with lots of photos, so watch this space –  and making another special announcement very soon.

About Helen J. Christmas

I am a budding author and have written the first 3 books of my British series of novels, 'Same Face Different Place. Beginnings is a suspense thriller set in the criminal underworld of 1970s London. The second Book 'Visions' is a psychological thriller, set in Kent - a mystery which ensnares the owners of an historic, English Country House. Book 3 Pleasures contains suspense, thrills and YA romance and the 4th book is being written.
This entry was posted in England, Locations, Research, Story, Thrillers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Update on Progress: Book 3 Pleasures – 24th September 2014

  1. Pingback: London Research Trip – 3rd October 2014 | Same Face Different Place

Leave a Reply

