One Lovely Blog Award – and other blog recommendations

7 facts about me?

It’s a very wet August Bank Holiday in England when I check my notifications on Twitter.  I’ve been mentioned and retweeted several times, more specifically, to take part in a new blogging initiative by JuliaProofreader, (http://juliaproofreader.wordpress.com/2014/08/25/one-lovely-blog-award-and-other-blog-recommendations/). I was introduced to Julia on Twitter via the very talented Terry Tyler, who is one of my favourite authors.

One Lovely Blog Award

Surprised, I was nominated for this Blog Award – not, to mention flattered, who the hell would want to know seven things about me, I thought? So where shall I start… Here goes.

I met my husband via a newspaper advert

After a very long period of being single, my Mum cut out an advert in the newspaper and urged me to join. It was called ‘Meeting Place’ and cost nothing – so what did I have to lose? Bless my mum! 4th date was the evening I met my Peter. We hooked up in a local pub, got chatting and got along so well, the evening flew by. It was the start of a lovely friendship, a powerful love bond and after 7 years living together, we decided to tie the knot.

Like Julia, we too, love living by the sea

We are lucky to live close to the beach in Bognor Regis, where at very low tide, two rows of rocks not only give rise to an unusual coastline, but expose the sand and 50 million year old clays which contain fossils, known as Rotularia bognoriensis. It’s a lovely place to stroll with our dog in all seasons, especially winter when we get some spectacular sunsets.

7-sunset

I live in a very old house

I’ve always been fascinated by older buildings and adore houses and cottages which have a bit of character. When I first left home, I bought a modern flat in Worthing and was surprised to suffer so many problems, due to insufficient heating and dampness. Yet, the 17th Century Grade II thatched cottage we live in now is solid in structure; its thick stone walls keep us warm in winter and cool in summer, which just proves the old adage ‘They don’t make things like they used to.’

I’m a country bumpkin at heart

I grew up in a village and am one of those people who desperately tries to hang on to old traditions. When I lived at home, we used to make country wines. These days, my husband and I still grow our own vegetables and love to pick blackberries in the countryside. We don’t make wine, but we do occasionally make flavoured oils and pickles from an abundance of produce, such as courgettes, tomatoes and chilli peppers.

vegetables

I am a web designer by profession

In 1998 husband Peter and I quit the rat race and set up our own web design business from home. We’re not rich, but have a great quality of life. Over the years we’ve met some interesting clients, both good and evil, we take the rough with the smooth and generally enjoy being our own bosses – and in this rapidly changing industry. We love the challenge.

I belong to a local walking group

Peter and I joined a walking group in 2003 and this has become a major part of our social life. Walking keeps us both fit and living in Sussex, we are surrounded by gorgeous countryside, which includes the chalky South Downs, between Chichester and Worthing, as well as some lovely landmarks, for example Arundel Castle and the River Arun. Every other Sunday, we don our walking boots and join the group for a 3-5 mile hike, followed by a pub lunch in some idyllic pub.

I am a big fan of Drum and Base music

I might as well end with something off the wall. It’s true – I enjoy the same sort of music as my teenage nieces, while my generation listen Radio 2. At some point when I started my 1st book, I was drawn to the duo ‘Chase and Status’ who produced some really weird stuff, very dark and gangland. My favourite musical decade is still the 80s, but alongside the newest Depeche Mode album, my i-pod is crammed full of dubstep, hip-hop and electronic dance.

Last but not least: here are 7 people who I am also going to nominate for this award, most of whom are author’s from our very own West Sussex group CHINDI (www.chindi-authors.co.uk) and other’s who I have had the pleasure of networking with via Facebook and Twitter.

@chiselandstone
Independent publisher and author http://www.chiselandstone.co.uk/blog/

@hypnodan
Bestselling Author, Infopreneur, Trance-Formation Coach http://www.followersofthelight.com/

@CreaturesofChi
Independent Children’s author: http://www.creaturesofchichester.com/

@MrJeremyGood
Author of the historical novel; The Butcher’s Son http://www.jeremygood.co.uk/

@JaneCable
Author of romance suspense ‘The Cheesemaker’s House. http://janecable.com/

@ChiCopywriter
Copywriter, Copy-editor, Proofreader & Social Media Marketer
http://www.ChichesterCopywriter.co.uk/

@CFFBooks
Writer of historical novels. ASMSG member. Also addicted reader http://www.christophfischerbooks.com/

About Helen J. Christmas

I am a budding author and have written the first 3 books of my British series of novels, 'Same Face Different Place. Beginnings is a suspense thriller set in the criminal underworld of 1970s London. The second Book 'Visions' is a psychological thriller, set in Kent - a mystery which ensnares the owners of an historic, English Country House. Book 3 Pleasures contains suspense, thrills and YA romance and the 4th book is being written.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One Lovely Blog Award – and other blog recommendations

  1. youngandtwenty says:

    Congratulations!

  2. Terry Tyler says:

    You sound as though you have a lovely life! The last one made me laugh – good for you! If you are stuck on people to nominate,do send me and email and I can suggest some. It’s such a nice goodwill thing to do, and helps expand the old network, too!!! x

  3. You see, we always find out something unusual about people through this very interesting blog strand. Drum and bass eh!

  4. It’s like a guilty pleasure! I liked your one about living by the sea, which I had to repeat.

Leave a Reply

