1st Edit of Pleasures gets underway – 3rd July 2014

I haven’t done much blogging lately, but on the other hand, I’ve been too busy writing – or more specifically, cracking on with the 3rd book of my series, ‘Pleasures.’

I began writing Book 3 on October 17th 2013 and on this occasion, prepared a very strong synopsis. This differs slightly to the the way I wrote my first 2 books. I had a head full of ideas, but I  was unsure as to how I would develop the story, until I actually knuckled down to it and then the ideas just kept flourishing. I sort of made it up as I went. But I am not exaggerating when I say, my second book, Visions, ran into problems. This deeply moving drama (which was the book I always wanted to write), did not pan out quite as I hoped which resulted in almost a total re-write. Even Book 1, Beginnings suffered major plot changes. So by the time I launched into the 3rd episode, I wanted to be sure, I knew, exactly where the story was going, before I wrote a single word.

It was good to go in with a plan: and as usual, I backed my writing up with research starting with a good look round the Internet and Youtube, delving into such subjects as Rave Culture, the 1987 Hurricane and the stock market crash, Black Monday – all significant and newsworthy items for the era in which the book is set. I also managed to squeeze in another trip to London, this time venturing into Pimlico (home of villainous Perry Hampton) which I never even wrote a blog about.

Pimlico London

1st Look at Pimlico using Google Earth (Prior to my visit)

By the end of June, however, it was time to pause – reflect on what I’ve written so far: because by this point, the story had spiralled to a gripping climax which left me suspended on a massive adrenalin high – and this is the problem. It is such an explosive storyline, I’m floundering – unsure how to wrap it all up, without the story fizzling out.

So before I write the ending, I have decided to do a first edit to see how the book is shaping up so far. I have to say I am very pleased with it, in it’s current form – and with no desire to re-write it!

About Helen J. Christmas

I am a budding author and have written the first 3 books of my British series of novels, 'Same Face Different Place. Beginnings is a suspense thriller set in the criminal underworld of 1970s London. The second Book 'Visions' is a psychological thriller, set in Kent - a mystery which ensnares the owners of an historic, English Country House. Book 3 Pleasures contains suspense, thrills and YA romance and the 4th book is being written.
This entry was posted in Novel, Research, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1st Edit of Pleasures gets underway – 3rd July 2014

  1. Pingback: What is Pleasures about? 4th July 2014 | Same Face Different Place

  2. Pingback: Book 3 Pleasures Published on Amazon | Same Face Different Place

Leave a Reply

