A New Era of Fear in Book 2 Visions – 31st July 2013

My first book ‘Beginnings’ was an intense thriller, with a romantic twist – of two young people caught up in a sinister conspiracy to end the life of a British MP followed by a deadly game of ‘cat and mouse.’ 

The story however, was left on a cliff-hanger with many unanswered questions – and with the first sequel ‘Visions’ now very close to release, readers of the first book are perhaps wondering what to expect in the second instalment.

‘Visions’ is a very different book – to begin with, the story moves from the criminal underworld of London into rural England. Instead of gangsters and corrupt police officers, this new story delves into the lives of the wealthy elite and the landed gentry.

Whitechapel 1970sforesttrack

Without giving too much away, who remembers the the man Jake saw by the roadside – could he also be the mysterious blonde man who appeared in the press conference scene? The key to everything that happened in Book 1?

This book is more along the lines of a ‘psychological thriller’ in contrast to the nail-biting chases and ever-prevalent threat of violence in the first book. It is however, a very passionate story with a new cast of powerful characters, readers will love as well as hate; and while there are many new characters, there will of course, be a few old faces returning too.

The pace is slower, where the tension builds up gradually – but leading to several terrifying outcomes no-one will expect.

In essence, the characters from ‘Same Face Different Place’ are about to expand their boundaries and enter into a whole new era. Where ‘Beginnings’ may have captured the flamboyant decade of the 1970s, infused with Glam Rock and political turmoil, so ‘Visions’ leaps into the 80s.

New Book cover design for 'Visions'  Book 2 explores the changing political face of Britain under Margaret Thatcher’s government, unemployment, riots, anti-nuclear protesters and new age travellers – but also incorporates a growing trend of materialism, leaping property prices and the birth of yuppy culture. This was also an age of rapid advances in technology, microchips and electronic dance music.

About Helen J. Christmas

I am an English author and have written a series of novels, titled 'Same Face Different Place. Beginnings is a gangland thriller set in the criminal underworld of 1970s London. The second Book 'Visions' is a psychological thriller, set in Kent; a mystery that ensnares the owners of an historic, English Country House. Book 3 Pleasures contains suspense, thrills and YA romance, set in a backdrop of organised crime and at the advent of the British rave culture. There are 2 final books in the series, Retribution (Phase One) and Retribution (End Game) where the saga reaches its dramatic conclusion.
This entry was posted in Locations, The Decades, Thrillers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.