The Fear Factor – 8th May 2013

There is no doubt that people are turned on by fear. From the feedback people have given for my first book, it is easy to see that a book which runs at a high adrenalin level is much harder to put down. I’ve read various blogs on the subject too, which draws me to one obvious conclusion.

A book is more exciting when it evokes fear in its readers!

Characters from Visions

An evil stalker sets out to instil fear in his victim

At the same time, it seems unrealistic to pursue a story by adrenalin alone. Which is why I occasionally feel inspired to inject a sense of every day life into my books – the reason I take time to depict more gentle scenes.

While some of these scenes might seem trivial to some, I truly believe a story needs some light to break up the darkness.

Books which rely on one terrifying scene after another, start to lose their impact after a while. So why not stop and concentrate on the characters occasionally? Think about how they must be feeling and allow the story to settle, before launching straight into the next dark chapter.

 A slower more gradual build up gives those scary moments so much more impact.

It is the characters and their lifestyles which creates the essence of the story. In the context of my own series, it adds a sense of realism which is unique to each decade, such as a child’s birthday party, or a group of teenagers going out clubbing; a couple falling in love… events which will draw the readers into the imaginary setting of the book – as well allowing them to ‘get to know’ the people in it.

The main reason I write is because I enjoy it. But if I’m about to put a new book on the market, I also want it to entertain people.

To satisfy people’s desire for that adrenalin high, Visions is a scary book. A book which starts gently, but unfolds into a story which is very dark. There is always a growing sense of menace – from the various scheming which takes place behind the scenes, to the more blatant stalking episode; then the build up to an explosive battle.

So I hope I’ve given readers what they want – but at the same time, I also hope to delight them with my interpretation of gentle village life and the creation of a community.

New Book cover design for 'Visions'

New Book cover design for ‘Visions’

‘Visions’ will be out very soon: my goal to have a first published draft out by the end of summer: the first of three sequels, which follow ‘Beginnings.’

About Helen J. Christmas

I am a budding author and have written the first 3 books of my British series of novels, 'Same Face Different Place. Beginnings is a suspense thriller set in the criminal underworld of 1970s London. The second Book 'Visions' is a psychological thriller, set in Kent - a mystery which ensnares the owners of an historic, English Country House. Book 3 Pleasures contains suspense, thrills and YA romance and the 4th book is being written.
This entry was posted in Fictional Characters, Thrillers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

