Writing my Book Trailer – 3rd January 2013

There are some really cool book trailers around at the moment and I have to admit this has been on my do do list for a while now. Last summer I actually borrowed my two nieces (and one boyfriend) to act as models for some of the characters. Combined with some of my own photos of London, along with a few image stills from photo libraries, I then worked on the photos in photoshop, to create the graphics for my trailer. In the end, I came up with some really powerful images which reflected the theme of my book.

Over the next few weeks, I worked on the text and video sequence itself but needed a good soundtrack. I’m still looking – but for the time being, I chose an instrumental titled ‘Flashing Lights’ which is by one of my favourite music duos, ‘Chase and Status’ combined with ‘Sub Focus’ – I liked the gentle guitar solo at the start, which gradually builds into a dramatic piece of music, which I faded out before it turned really dark! I have however, heard this on TV (usually in the background of an up and coming drama series) so I’ll have to source something else eventually.

On to the trailer itself, I made good use of the Christmas Holidays to put this altogether in Adobe Flash. The project file looks great! Unfortunately I’m not so happy as to how it exported as an .mov file. It seems to have lost its seamless tweening, not to mention some of the texts are looking a little ragged. Painful though its seems, I don’t think I can use it because it just doesn’t look professional. So it’s back to the drawing board – maybe using different software.

However it did seem such a shame to put all that hard work to waste. So I’ve decided to publish my original story board. I will have another crack at this at sometime in the future, but for now, here is the trailer sequence.

SAME FACE DIFFERENT PLACE
by Helen J. Christmas

Book One – Beginnings
A fast paced thriller set in the dark criminal underworld of London

london-view

The year is 1972

london-street

Eleanor is 16

eleanor-a

when she discovers her father is involved in organised crime 

pic2a

but he is forced to go on the run
leaving her in the hands of dangerous people

eleanor1

Thrown into prostitution

eleanor3-1

She is about to face her worst nightmare…

eleanor3

…desperate to escape

eleanor4

she stumbles across another prisoner

eleanor5

An innocent young man

jake1

who has a contract on his life 

jake2

His name is Jake
He is a gifted musician from Holland

Together they risk a daring escape…followed by a terrifying chase across London

pic11

until at last they find a safe place to hide… and then Jake tells his story

He witnessed a scene

pic12

a mysterious man lurking by the roadside

explosion

The car bomb explosion which claimed the life of a British MP 

pic14

He was interviewed by the police

pic13a

Now those responsible want him silenced forever

Two young people thrown together by fate… who fall in love

pic15

Jake and Eleanor know they are living on borrowed time…

pic16

Somewhere out there, a lethal contract killer is hunting them…

This is the Beginning..…

Available on Amazon.com

Visit: http://www.samefacedifferentplace.co.uk

About Helen J. Christmas

I am a budding author and have written the first 3 books of my British series of novels, 'Same Face Different Place. Beginnings is a suspense thriller set in the criminal underworld of 1970s London. The second Book 'Visions' is a psychological thriller, set in Kent - a mystery which ensnares the owners of an historic, English Country House. Book 3 Pleasures contains suspense, thrills and YA romance and the 4th book is being written.
This entry was posted in Novel, Thrillers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing my Book Trailer – 3rd January 2013

  1. Chloe says:

    This is brilliant! Fantastic job, I particularly like the first one with Eleanor!

  2. Thank you Chloe – I thought it was a lovely photo and was delighted with how it came out. Do you you recognise the last (but one) photo?

Leave a Reply

