Marketing Tips for Authors – 19th October 2012

As Indie Authors how can we boost our sales and drive readers to our books?

Since publishing the first book of my series ‘Same Face Different Place’, I have been drawn into a fascinating new world of marketing and social networking with other authors and consultants and it seems there are no shortage of people out there, willing to promote your work for free.

This latest blog is as much to share my experiences with others as to show my appreciation for all those out there who took an interest in me as a new author as well my first novel, by inviting me to join their circle. Here are some of the avenues I’ve been down.

Book Promo Group

I first came across this site on Twitter and followed their link. Within a few short days, I had an invitation to join the group and create a web page of my very own on the website. A great way for any new author to talk about themselves, as well as their book, upload a cover and even a video trailer. What I like most about this group is that we network – we regularly retweet each other and I have befriended a few members on Facebook where we share our own experiences as authors. This is really great group and a good place to immerse yourself into the writing community. To see an example, visit  http://bookpromo.weebly.com/helen-christmas.html

Black Caviar Book Club

This invitation came from another follower on Twitter, this time from a young British author named Psymon H who has just launched a new website which promises to engage authors with their readers, (which I thought sounded like an excellent idea). So I’ve already booked my seat – and voila! I have another page to tweet and blog about, hence more exposure. See: www.blackcaviar-bookclub.com/psychological-thriller-books-same-face-different-place.html. With plenty of different genres to choose for I recommend this site to all fellow indie authors who like to network. I have yet to subscribe to his own book, but it is definitely on my ‘to do’ list.

ASK DAVID (Reviews Community)

The latest invitation came from askDavid.com. It first drew my interest when I ran another free promotion on my first book, Beginnings which is a thriller with a love story element. At first I decided this would be a targeted campaign which I aimed at Goodreads (a new social networking channel where I stumbled across an rewarding new forum titled ‘support GR authors on Facebook’); as well as with my local radio station Spirit FM.

12 hours before the campaign ended however, I did a final blast on twitter by inviting a number of followers in the book promotion field to retweet my FREE book in the hope of getting a few extra downloads. However, in a few cases I was a little too late – but got the invitation to feature my book on askDavid.com instead.

I now have my own link and page which I am very pleased with! So I invite anyone who’s willing, to please submit their review for my book on askDavid.com.

The best thing about all these websites is that they will promote your book for FREE and feature their own twitter and facebook like buttons, to make spreading the word even easier. I can’t see how we can lose really…

Meet the Author – on the Blog of Jocelyn Adams

My last accolade goes out to Jocelyn Adams for very kindly offering me an interview on her own blog ‘Meet the Author’. I check out this blog on a weekly basis now and as a result, have stumbled across many very interesting sounding authors and books. This was another great tip which I found on a forum on Goodreads. I have since noticed a number of facebook posts, relating to this sort of venture – I think it’s great that so many authors are now offering interviews on their Blog pages to help spread the word.

My Own Mobile Website

I would like to mention that as I work as a web designer from home with my husband, we have recently been offering mobile websites and I now have one of my own. I think it is important to be able to offer a website which is optimised for mobile devices, since more and more people are now using their smart phones to browse the internet.

So what better way to promote yourself than by having a site, which has instant access to your Facebook and Twitter account, as well as to your own book link on Amazon? Further more, you can even upload a PDF for visitors to download samples of your work. It’s excellent and I am so pleased with it – check it out yourself at http://www.englishnovelist.tel/

I would also like to offer the service to other authors so if anyone is interested in this feature, please leave some details in the comments section below this post and we will be happy to assist you.Helen Christmas

About Helen J. Christmas

I am a budding author and have written the first 3 books of my British series of novels, 'Same Face Different Place. Beginnings is a suspense thriller set in the criminal underworld of 1970s London. The second Book 'Visions' is a psychological thriller, set in Kent - a mystery which ensnares the owners of an historic, English Country House. Book 3 Pleasures contains suspense, thrills and YA romance and the 4th book is being written.
This entry was posted in Self Publishing, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

