First Review of an e-book – 19th June 2012

Now I have started feeling my way around this fascinating world of e-book publishing, I have realised the importance of supporting the works of other independent authors like myself. Having dipped my toes into the ocean of networking sites such as Twitter, Good Reads and Book Promo Group I have come across many interesting sounding authors and books – and one which caught my eye was ‘Slick Deals’ by Helen Carey. First of all, because it was a thriller – and secondly, because it had an environmental theme which intrigued me.

I took a glance at the sample on Amazon, read the prologue and I was instantly drawn in by both the story as well as the writing style. So I thought I’d give it a try. It should be worth noting that this is the first time I have bought an e-book for my kindle from an unknown author. Here goes…

My Review of ‘Slick Deals’ by Helen Carey

So on to my review: this was a great story with a really well thought out plot. I must confess I don’t know much about oil trading, but the author came across as being extremely knowledgeable, injecting enough information into the story to give the reader a good overview, but without bogging them down with too much detail. The book moved along at a nice pace and kept my interest all the way through. In fact there were certain points in the story, where I couldn’t wait to pick it up again! It was a real page turner.

Some of the descriptions really shone through too – in particular, the boat trip scene along the Welsh coast, when they went out spotting dolphins which was beautifully written and really put me in the picture (I could almost smell the sea!). There was plenty of edge of the seat action too, which all added to my enjoyment of the book. I also liked the way a number of global issues were raised, such as the illegal trade in endangered species, as well as the need to protect the planet, but without preaching green politics. A real eye-opener. Very well done and I shall definitely be buying more books by this author as well as more kindle books in general.

I highly recommend this book so here is the link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Slick-Deals-ebook/dp/B006GDO30S

I’ll be adding this review to Amazon and also Goodreads soon. But first of all I would just like to say a little more about e-publishing, in support of the authors who choose this route.

My Views on Self-Published Independent Authors

I won’t deny I have picked up a little snobbery in the world of publishing of late. There are a few ‘published’ authors out there who seem intent on moaning that ‘anyone can publish a book on Amazon now’ and therefore assume such novels are inferior, full of grammatical errors and who an earth would buy a book from a self published author no-one has ever heard of?

I take these comments with a huge pinch of salt. Books are subjective. I am not ashamed to say I have read a number of ‘published’ books, some of which I have been unable to finish and thought to be complete tosh (and that’s being kind). Whereas here is a self-published Kindle book which I personally enjoyed as much as anything I would buy from a book store, if not more!

The truth is, that publishers receive 100s of manuscripts every week from hopeful authors and probably reject over 95% of them. Even best selling author JK Rowling’s first novel was rejected 12 times which just about says it all!

Yet, there are many very talented authors out there, whose works would never see the light of day, if it was not for the mechanism of self-publishing on Amazon. And we as readers, would otherwise never get an opportunity to enjoy their great books, if the entire industry was governed by conventional publishing houses. So judge for yourselves. Reading is all about entertainment – and that’s what really matters.

About Helen J. Christmas

I am a budding author and have written the first 3 books of my British series of novels, 'Same Face Different Place. Beginnings is a suspense thriller set in the criminal underworld of 1970s London. The second Book 'Visions' is a psychological thriller, set in Kent - a mystery which ensnares the owners of an historic, English Country House. Book 3 Pleasures contains suspense, thrills and YA romance and the 4th book is being written.
This entry was posted in Environment, Reviews, Self Publishing, Thrillers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

