Dealing with Death – April 18th 2012

Since I started writing my second book ‘Visions’ in November 2011 it struck me the other day, how very little there has been to inspire me this time round. It has all been very much down to my own efforts and hard work, that this book has got as far as it has really. Yet I think back to all the help which seemed to spring in my path the first time round, when I started writing ‘Beginnings’ – from a chance photo exhibition depicting life in East London from 1972 – to an impromptu invitation to Holland. There is even a new TV documentary now showing which is all about the 70s Britain.

This brings me to wonder if there could be anything to assist me this time?

There was a film which came out in February, titled ‘The Iron Lady’ about the reign of Margaret Thatcher. ‘Visions’ is set in the years 1985 and 1986 so so a few scenes from that film pulled me back into that era!

Sadly, I now find myself coming very close to the death of one of my main characters.

Yet, ironically at my book club last week, we were all given different books by Jennifer Worth who describes her own experiences, working as a nurse in the East End. ‘In the Midst of Life’ is the one I ended up with – and it is a book about death. Most importantly it is a book about our attitudes towards death and how we, as the bereaved handle the death of loved one – and this could be quite important in the context of my own novel.

About Helen J. Christmas

I am a budding author and have written the first 3 books of my British series of novels, 'Same Face Different Place. Beginnings is a suspense thriller set in the criminal underworld of 1970s London. The second Book 'Visions' is a psychological thriller, set in Kent - a mystery which ensnares the owners of an historic, English Country House. Book 3 Pleasures contains suspense, thrills and YA romance and the 4th book is being written.
This entry was posted in The Decades. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

