My First Review – 27th February 2012

With that strange feeling that ‘all this is behind me now and it’s just a case of letting things happen’, I was somewhat chuffed when I received my first review. I never expected quite such a glowing testimonial but this has all come as a lovely surprise – especially considering this is only my first week of becoming an ‘aspiring author’ with a ‘live’ title now on Amazon Kindle.

Since then, 2 others have purchased my book, one of who has informed me that they are ‘Thoroughly enjoying it so far – the sense of impending doom is brilliant.’

Another fellow writer who took the time and trouble to help me with some of the content, asked if she could see how her input had been translated into the context of this book – so of course I sent her a PDF. I was deeply moved when I received this reply:
“Oh my goodness…I just read it and…I cried! That is so beautiful! You are a truly gifted writer, Helen. It’s impressive how easily the reader can pick up the characters, even without beginning at their introduction in the book. You really captured all the conflicting emotions of a new mother (even though, obviously, this mother has more to worry about than I did!). You should be very proud! I loved it and I’m sure your readers will too! You have really put a lot into it and it shows.”

I think I nearly cried too!

This has given me great confidence. It is nice to know that people out there are enjoying my work and I could not ask for more. Thanks everyone!


About Helen J. Christmas

I am an English author and have written a series of novels, titled 'Same Face Different Place. Beginnings is a gangland thriller set in the criminal underworld of 1970s London. The second Book 'Visions' is a psychological thriller, set in Kent; a mystery that ensnares the owners of an historic, English Country House. Book 3 Pleasures contains suspense, thrills and YA romance, set in a backdrop of organised crime and at the advent of the British rave culture. There are 2 final books in the series, Retribution (Phase One) and Retribution (End Game) where the saga reaches its dramatic conclusion.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Self Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.