London and Kent – 28th September 2011

Entrance into the park 

Escape route out of the park

After about an hour, I made my exit from London, heading back East, under the Blackwell Tunnel, just to see where the road would lead me. Basically, I needed to find two towns where the characters were going to end up living in Book 2 – somewhere which was a reasonable distance outside London. My search took me first to Swanley and then to Orpington.

Houses in Swanley

Swanley I discovered, was absolutely perfect for the smaller town that I would like to feature in Book 2. It had just about everything required – lovely houses, some of which looked expensive and a neat town centre with shops and a leisure complex. Even the apartment blocks look classy here.

The High Street in Orpington

The second town needed to be a little bigger – which was where Orpington almost fitted the criterion, being a larger town which is extremely attractive with a very pretty high street, half timber buildings, beautiful pubs and a park. It is almost certainly the right model for Visions to be based – a town where the perfect community is about to evolve – the only problem being, there is no council based here and no town hall. Thus, the second town will be fictitious – a place I have decided to name as Rosebrook, which is very loosely based Orpington, but with a few adaptions to suit this new story.

So it was during this trip which I concluded my location research for Book 1 Beginnings – and researched a second area in readiness to begin its first sequel.


About Helen J. Christmas

I am an English author and have written a series of novels, titled 'Same Face Different Place. Beginnings is a gangland thriller set in the criminal underworld of 1970s London. The second Book 'Visions' is a psychological thriller, set in Kent; a mystery that ensnares the owners of an historic, English Country House. Book 3 Pleasures contains suspense, thrills and YA romance, set in a backdrop of organised crime and at the advent of the British rave culture. There are 2 final books in the series, Retribution (Phase One) and Retribution (End Game) where the saga reaches its dramatic conclusion.
This entry was posted in Locations, Research. Bookmark the permalink.